Cards turn a 5-8 forceout – a fun rarity – but shouldn’t this have been called an infield fly?

13/07/2014 § Leave a comment

It’s a goofy one:

Matt Carpenter decides not to make the catch and lets the ball drop. Isn’t that relatively easy catch to make? Shouldn’t the batter-runner be automatically out?

UPDATE: Simply, no.

As pointed out by Chris Withers on Twitter, a bunt is an exception to the rule.

An INFIELD FLY is a fair fly ball (not including a line drive nor an attempted bunt) which can be caught by an infielder with ordinary effort, when first and second, or first, second and third bases are occupied, before two are out. The pitcher, catcher and any outfielder who stations himself in the infield on the play shall be considered infielders for the purpose of this rule.

Thanks for the reminder, Chris.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cards turn a 5-8 forceout – a fun rarity – but shouldn’t this have been called an infield fly? at The Wanderer.

meta

%d bloggers like this: